10/21/2011

Much hulabaloo about prelim


I am rushing to finish my prelim by January. Ntah boleh ke tak. Sigh. It seems though a lot of people have issues with it. Our school is undergoing a lot of changes lately. Those who enter in 2010 are now under the College, not the school. Therefore, they will graduate with a PhD not from Comm Studies but from the college. Therefore, they also have different requirements. I am under the old program, so theoretically I shouldn't be affected at all. 

However, an issue that has caused much contention right now is the prelim. Some of my friends in the old program don't agree with how it's being done, and want to change to the new program so that can escape it (they think it won't be carried out in the new program, but that's not true!). Many people see it as unnecessary or burdensome. It's only once a year (in Spring) and if you don't pass it or fail to submit, you can't sit for the Comps which is in September. When you finish all that only can you defend your proposal @ prospectus.  So if you delay, you will waste almost a year or at the very least six months. Plus, your proposal can't exactly be the same as your preliminary. Therefore, I can see why some people would be reluctant to have this one extra step. It's also notoriously difficult to pass. I hope I can do it. Double sigh. Will be meeting my SV to discuss ideas, and I am told that I have only three chance to see her. When I start writing, I will be on my own.

The good thing about it is that it pressures me to start thinking about my topic seriously. Plus, this is a good test to see if I can apply all that I have learned. I just wished it wasn't so soon. I don't have much time so I better start cracking. Wish me luck!

No comments:

Post a Comment